From Death to Flight: The True Story of a Stunned Bird (Post 34)

As I sit at home looking for the next awesome job opportunity, I’m responsible for saving all the birds that stun themselves by flying into the windows. My family’s pets are hunters and quick to capitalize on tasty opportunities.

This morning a sparrow took a hard hit to the window I was sitting next to. The dog happened to be outside at the time. He is familiar with the dull thud against the windowpane. It’s equivalent to a lunch bell.

I sprinted outside, distracted the dog, and ran towards the dazed sparrow that was lying on the deck. Luckily, I reached the bird first. I used my body to shield the helpless creature from the dog.

I’m not sure how I managed to pull this next part off: Using my ninja instincts, I scooped the bird into the palm of my hand, stood up, and just barely raised the bird above my head as the dog lunged to snag it from me.

Once the main crisis was avoided, I placed the limp bird on a nearby fence. This allowed the sparrow to naturally recover, and I could also keep an eye on it while working.

Initially, I wasn’t sure the bird would survive. It could only lie on its stomach as if it were already dead. After about five minutes, the bird got back on its feet and, still confused, scanned its surroundings. Within half and hour, the sparrow had fully recovered its faculties and rejoined its friends at the bird feeder.

Oh, The Symbolism

You never know when you’ll fly headfirst into a window and stun yourself. Life is unpredictable. Accidents can’t always be averted. The good news is that sometimes, against all odds, we survive. Someone or something saves us from getting gobbled up by a hungry predator.

As I watched the bird revive, I couldn’t help but reflect on the crises of my own life.

The bird lay limply on the fence, its heart in a panicked flutter.

I used to look upon my future with anxiety and hopelessness. I didn’t see what good could possibly come from my life. I didn’t think I had any gifts or talents to offer. Death surrounded me. My chance of survival was unclear.

Still stunned, the bird regains enough strength to stand on its feet. It frantically surveys its surroundings but is unable to fly away. 

As life unfolded, I gradually regained hope and let go of excess stress. I started to see my strengths and understand how to channel my passions. While I still knew I had a long way to go, I was excited about my potential. However, there were still faint traces of doubt that kept me on edge.

The bird isn’t fully recovered yet, but it is calm. It peacefully sits on the fence and waits for the right moment to attempt flight. 

I found a new hope and purpose in life. Finally, I had peace and joy. Getting through the day wasn’t like marching to a funeral dirge anymore. It was more like swing dancing with a really good dance partner. While I wasn’t quite ready to be off to the next adventure, I knew the time was coming.

Return to flight. 

Once life felt comfortable again, I had to pursue uncomfortable things. Though it would be easier to stay on that safe perch forever, that would be counterproductive. If you stop taking risks and moving forward, life gets stagnant. Just as unmoving water produces bloodsucking mosquitoes, a stagnant life produces nothing of value.

15666243542_414673f9b1_o

Did you enjoy this article? Let’s connect!

View Lauren Risetter's profile on LinkedIn

 

Leave a Reply

